Osimhen, Ndidi, Finidi vie for honors

Edwin  - CEO May 16, 2024
Updated 2024/05/19 at 4:56 PM
5 Min Read
Victor Osimhen of Nigeria celebrates a victory during the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations match between Nigeria and South Africa photo credit: CAFonline
Victor Osimhen of Nigeria celebrates a victory during the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations match between Nigeria and South Africa photo credit: CAFonline

Tenth Nigeria Pitch Awards: Obasogie, Ajibade, and Soname are also in the running


Wilfred Ndidi


By Rasheed Adewuyi


Organizers of the Nigeria Pitch Awards are set to take the ‘uncommon transformation’ city of Uyo by storm with the tenth edition of Nigeria’s longest-running football awards scheduled for Saturday, 8th June at the Ibom Meridien Hotel and Resorts.


President of Nigeria Pitch Awards, Shina Phillips said during the week that his team is packaging a show-stopper of an event to mark one decade of an interesting project that has continued to gain strength and relevance on the pillars of authenticity, transparency, and credibility, and which is endorsed by the Nigeria Football Federation.


“We are leaving no stone unturned to ensure a memorable tenth edition of the awards. All is set, and we are heading to Uyo to put up a super-show and to mobilize resources within our capacity to support the Super Eagles to victory in the FIFA World Cup qualifying match against South Africa on Friday, 7th June.


“I want to use this opportunity to deeply appreciate the NFF, the Super Eagles, all our friends, enablers, affiliates, and commercial partners, for their support over the past 10 years, and to promise that the values of transparency, integrity, and credibility will never depart from the Nigeria Pitch Awards.”


Already, nominees have emerged in the 18 award categories, with the winners to be unveiled at the Ibom Meridien on the night of Saturday, 8th June. The award categories include Goalkeeper of the Year, Defender of the Year, Midfielder of the Year, Striker of the Year, Queen of the Pitch, King of the Pitch, Sam Okwaraji Award, Football Pitch, Football-Friendly Governor, Corporate Sponsor, alongside several honors for media representatives.


Goalkeeper of the Year: Kayode Bankole (Remo Stars); Amas Obasogie (Bendel Insurance); Ojo Olorunleke (Enyimba FC)


Defender of the Year: Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC); Ola Aina (Nottingham Forest); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce SK)


Midfielder of the Year: Alhassan Yusuf (Royal Antwerp); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC)


Striker of the Year: Robert Mizo (Bayelsa United); Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen)


Queen of the Pitch: Rasheedat Ajibade (Atletico de Madrid Femenino); Chiamaka Nnadozie (Paris FC); Asisat Oshoala (Bay FC)


King of the Pitch: Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC); Emeka Obioma (Enyimba FC); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen)


Team of the Year: Super Falcons; Enyimba FC; Remo Stars


Coach of the Year: Daniel Ogunmodede (Remo Stars); Finidi George (Enyimba FC); Randy Waldrum (Super Falcons)


Sam Okwaraji Award: Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC); Ahmed Musa; Kunle Soname (Proprietor, Remo Stars)


State With The Best Grassroots Football Development Programme: Edo State; Delta State; Lagos State


Football Pitch of the Year: Mobolaji Johnson Arena, Lagos; Remo Stars Stadium, Ikenne; Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo


Football-Friendly Governor of the Year: His Excellency Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom State); His Excellency Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos State); His Excellency Godwin Obaseki (Edo State)


Corporate Sponsor of Football: Bet9ja (Sport Betting); GTI (Financial Services); MTN (Telecom)


Sportsmanship Award: Hon. Kunle Soname (Proprietor, Remo Stars); Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC); Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye (Chairman, NPFL Board)


Football Journalist of the Year (Print): Christian Okpara (The Guardian); Charles Diya (New Telegraph); Johnny Edward (Punch Newspapers)


Football Journalist of the Year (TV): Miyen Akiri (TVC); Mozez Praiz (SuperSport); Cecilia Omorogbe (Channels TV)


Football Journalist of the Year (Radio): Olawale Adigun (Mainland FM); Yinka Oyedele (Brila 88.9 FM); Anthony Bekederemo (Brila 88.9 FM)


Football Journalist of the Year (Online): Samuel Ahmadu (Savid News); Tobi Adepoju (Oganla Media); Kunle Solaja (sportsvillagesquare.com)



Please follow and like us:
Share this Article
Leave a comment