CAF unveils star-studded line-up of Legends

Edwin  - CEO January 12, 2024
Updated 2024/01/13 at 4:55 AM
3 Min Read

For TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations Cote d’Ivoire 2023



CAF has confirmed a star-studded lineup of African football legends for the TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations Cote d’Ivoire 2023 to promote the tournament and enhance the brand awareness of the flagship continental sporting event.


The CAF Legends, comprising iconic former players, were selected based on their popularity, participation in major competitions, and social influence.


Each Participating Member Association (PMA) is represented by one of their famous players who has a rich history in continental football, except hosts Cote d’Ivoire with two. They will be attached to their teams and involved in social activations around the tournament.


Flying high, the colors of ‘Les Elephants’ of Cote d’Ivoire are the former captain and two-time CAF Player of the Year, Didier Drogba, and former offensive midfielder Salomon Kalou. Kalou was part of the Cote d’Ivoire that won their last TotalEnergies  Africa Cup of Nations in 2015.


Holders Senegal will find comfort in former captain Mamadou Niang, who led the Teranga Lions at the 2012 TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon & Equatorial Guinea. He was also present in 2004, 2006, and 2008.


Other eye-catching African legends set to join their teams include Egypt’s Ahmed Hassan, four-time winner of the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations – 1998, 2006, 2008, and 2010.


Also on the list is Nigerian midfield generalissimo Augustine ‘Jay-Jay’ Okocha, who won the continental trophy in 1994, and former Zambia captain Christopher Katongo. The latter guided the Chipolopolo to continental glory in 2012.


Siphiwe Tshabalala, the first player to score in Africa’s first-ever FIFA World Cup in 2010, represents South Africa, just as former Black Stars captain Stephen Appiah, who represented Ghana at all age groups.


TotalEnergies CAF Legends

Karim Ziani (Algeria)

Fabrice Alcebiades Maieco “Akwa” (Angola)

Moumouni Dagano (Burkina Faso)

Heldon Ramos (Cape Verde)

Joel Epalle (Cameroon)

Didier Drogba (Cote d’Ivoire)

Salomon Kalou (Cote d’Ivoire)

Shabani Nonda (DR Congo)

Ahmed Hassan (Egypt)

Rodolfo Bodipo (Equatorial Guinea)

Pa Modou Jagne (Gambia)

Stephen Appiah (Ghana)

Pascal Feindouno (Guinea)

Bocundji Ca (Guinea-Bissau)

Adama Tamboura (Mali)

Souleimane Brahim (Mauritania)

Manuel Jose Luis Bucuane “Tico Tico” (Mozambique)

Nourredddine Naybet (Morocco)

Ronald Ketjijere (Namibia)

Augustine “Jay-Jay” Okocha (Nigeria)

Siphiwe Tshabalala (South Africa)

Mrisho Ngassa (Tanzania)

Karim Haggui (Tunisia)

Christopher Katongo (Zambia)


Please follow and like us:
Share this Article
Leave a comment